Discover Impressionism and its precursors south of Paris

Close to Paris and its vibrant atmosphere, experience the delights of the great outdoors at the southern gateway to the French capital. Between Barbizon and Yerres, an extensive area still clearly bears the stamp of the Impressionists, as well as of their precursors. The inspiring local forests, charming villages and invigorating rivers drew all these painters to the region.
Even today, the area is packed with places where you can appreciate the personal development of many artists, visiting painters’ homes, museums and dynamic galleries. A number of Gustave Caillebotte’s canvases were influenced by the times he spent at his family property in Yerres, southeast of Paris. As to Sisley, he settled in Moret-sur-Loing for the last 20 years of his life. A trip to Barbizon, a village on the edge of Fontainebleau Forest, acts as a splendid excuse for following in the tracks of landscape artists such as Millet and Rousseau who were part of the Barbizon School, an art movement seen as a forerunner of Impressionism.

What to see and do

in Barbizon, its surrounds & Yerres

Filter Categories
All
Unmissable
Inspirations
Filter Categories
All
Unmissable
Inspirations
Filter Categories
All
Museums & sites
Trails & walks

Interactive
map

Explore Impressionism around Barbizon & Yerres thanks to our interactive map!

Inspiring
moments

Share lovely moments with family or friends at the terrace of one of Barbizon’s restaurants. Fall for the charms of the special atmosphere in this village that attracted so many artists, lingering to admire the streets lined with fantastic galleries.

Hire a bike to ride around the medieval lanes of Moret-sur-Loing at your own pace. Later, replace your bike with a canoe to glide along the Loing River. After a delightful tour of this picturesque stone-built town, enjoy a riverside rest, listening to the water lap at the quays as you taste Sucre d’Orge de Moret-sur-Loing, a barley sugar speciality made here since 1638.

On a fine day, walk around the lush grounds of the Propriété Caillebotte, with their follies and kitchen garden. This is a truly enchanting place. Imagine the sensations the painter felt here, in this idyllic setting that has remained unspoilt since his day. Then go out on a little boat on the Yerres and glide gently along the river…

All events

Découvrir l’Impressionnisme et ses précurseurs au sud de Paris

Non loin de Paris et de son atmosphère vibrante, retrouvez les plaisirs du plein air aux portes de la capitale. Entre Yerres et Barbizon, un vaste territoire porte l’empreinte, toujours palpable, des Impressionnistes et des peintres qui les ont précédés. Forêt inspirante, villages de charme, cours d’eau ressourçants ont aimanté les peintres dans cette région.
Aujourd’hui encore, elle regorge de lieux vous invitant à pénétrer leur intimité : maison d’artistes, musées, galeries très actives… Une partie des tableaux de Gustave Caillebotte est influencée par les moments passés dans sa propriété familiale de Yerres, au sud-est de Paris. De son côté, Sisley s’installe à Moret-sur-Loing les 20 dernières années de sa vie. Un détour par Barbizon, en lisière de forêt de Fontainebleau, est un formidable prétexte pour suivre les traces des peintres paysagistes (Millet ou Rousseau) de « l’école de Barbizon », mouvement artistique précurseur des Impressionnistes.

À voir, à faire

à Barbizon, ses alentours et Yerres

Filter Categories
Tout
Incontournables
Inspirations
Filter Categories
Tout
Incontournables
Inspirations
Filter Categories
Tout
Musées & sites
Parcours & Balades

Carte
interactive

Découvrez l'impressionnisme autour de Barbizon & Yerres grâce à notre carte interactive !

Instants
de bonheur

Partager un bon moment entre amis, en famille, à la terrasse d’un restaurant à Barbizon. Se laisser charmer par l’atmosphère singulière de ce village d’artistes en s’attardant dans les rues bordées de fantastiques galeries.

Louer un vélo et parcourir à son rythme les ruelles médiévales de Moret-sur-Loing. Troquer ensuite la bicyclette pour un canoë et se laisser porter par le Loing. Après le charme des vieilles pierres, profiter du doux clapotis de l’eau en dégustant le Sucre d’Orge de Moret-sur-Loing, spécialité de la ville depuis 1638.

Aux beaux jours, se balader dans le verdoyant parc de la Propriété Caillebotte, son potager et ses fabriques. Un véritable enchantement ! Retrouver les sensations du peintre dans un cadre idyllique, resté intact depuis son époque. Puis faire un tour en barque sur l’Yerres et se laisser guider par le cours de la rivière…

Tous les évènements